The Rochester-Finger Lakes Exhibition (RFLX), The City’s oldest and longest-running juried exhibition for emerging and established artists from western and central New York, returns to the Memorial Art Gallery. The 68th installment will be on view from April 23rd – August 6th.

What is required to be showcased in this exhibition? Artists have to live within the 27-county region, completed their original work(s) within the last two years, be 18 years of age or older, and submitted their entry to MAG by December 31st, 2022. After careful consideration, the 68th RFLX artists have been selected by this year’s Juror, Molly Donovan, Curator of Contemporary Art at the National Gallery of Art in Washington D.C. with assistance from MAG Director of Exhibitions Margot Muto and her team. The artists for the 68th Rochester-Finger Lakes Exhibition are:

Zara Bronwyn Davis
Robert Dorsey
Laurence Keefe
Clara Riedlinger
Amanda Parry Oglesbee
Hilary Douglass
Jeffrey Kell
Timothy Rodrigo
Joe Accorso
Amanda Dwyer
William Keyser
Kari Ganoung Ruiz
Peter Allen
Adam Eaton
Shayna Kiblin
Penny Santy
Kathy Armstrong
Connie Ehindero
John Kosboth
Carmen Schaefer
Anne Auld
Jack Elliott
Rachel Kraybill
Megan Scheffer
Mark Avery
Frani Evedon
Eric Kunsman
Yaqub Shabazz
Katherine Baca-Bielinis
Unique Fair-Smith
Sue Leopard
Samantha Sonnenfeld
Paul Bergwall
Lynne Feldman
Donna Meadows Manier
Carla Stetson
Paola Betchart

Jason Ferguson
Stephanie McMahon
Steve Tolson
Aurora Bewicke
John Fitzsimmons
Patrice McPeak
Rich Tomasello
Lynn Bierbaum
Faithanne Flesher
Megan Metté
Elaine Verstraete
Katherine Brown
Nina Gaby
Michelle L Miller
Patrick Vincitore
Belinda Bryce
Amy Gendrou
Kim Nelson
Patricia Walter-Matthews
Phyllis Bryce Ely
Jean Gerow
Jason Norris
Rob Whitcomb               
Heather Cappadonia
William Giancursio
Cindi O’Mara
Ian Williams
Virginia Cassetta
Emily Glass
Sari Oister
Rachel Wittels
Robin Caster-Howard
Andrea Gluckman
Yen Ospina
Beckett Wood
Chris Charles
Judith Gohringer

Dandong Ouyang
Joseph Ziolkowski
Julie Coleman
John Griebsch
Barbara Page
Stefan Zoller    
Walter Colley
Laural Hartman*
Jina Park
Ryann Cooley
Jennifer Hecker
Megan Parry
Jordan Coons
Beverly Hettig
Mary Peartree
Joe Cuccio
Lee Hoag
Luann Pero
Tom Cummings
Sally Hootnick
Rachel Philipson
Susan DAmato
Haley Indorato
Avi Pryntz-Nadworny
Pat DeLuca
Dale Inglett
Abisay Puentes
Daniel DeLuna
Tyrone Johnson-Neuland
Beth Quattrociocchi
Lizz deSimone
Seojung Kang
Luanne Redeye*
David Dorsey
Stephen Kankus
Brittany Reid

*indicates multiple entries

This year, artists are eligible for several cash prizes totaling more than $4,500. These include the $1,500 Memorial Art Gallery Award, selected by the juror; the Alice Koret Award, presented by museum docents, and selected by a subset of museum docents; and the Harris Popular Vote Award, selected by visitors during the first two weeks of the exhibition. The first five awards will be announced at the members’ opening reception, and the Harris Popular Vote Award will be announced during the run of the exhibition.


About the Juror for the 68th RFLX

Molly Donovan has worked as the curator of contemporary art at the National Gallery of Art since 1993. During her tenure, she has curated international touring exhibitions, including Warhol: Headlines (2012–13), and Rachel Whiteread (2017–19), on which she collaborated with Ann Gallagher at Tate Britain. Recently, Molly co-curated with Kanitra Fletcher and Steve Nelson the Washington presentation of Afro-Atlantic Histories (2022). Molly’s permanent collection exhibitions and acquisitions have reshaped the Gallery’s program to include more works by living artists, particularly women and people of color. Among her many such presentations are: Lynda Benglis (2021), Barbara Kruger: Profiles (2016–17), and Christo and Jeanne Claude in the Vogel Collection (2002). She has initiated several innovative commissions at the Gallery, including Roxy Paine’s Graft (2009), Leo Villareal’s Multiverse (2008), and Andy Goldsworthy’s Roof (2004–05). Molly has written and lectured on many other, including Janine Antoni, María Berrío, Byron Kim, Kimsooja, Teresita Fernandez, Glenn Ligon, Richard Tuttle, and Ursula von Rydingsvard. Molly grew up in Buffalo, NY, and is excited to reconnect with her western New York roots as Juror of the 68th Rochester-Finger Lakes Exhibition.


For a full and up-to-date credit line visit the exhibition page.